“I Can’t Correct That!”

treeI recently reconnected with a cousin, “Alice” that I haven’t seen in about 28 years. She was so excited to hear about all of the Family History I written about and the Genealogy research I have done. During our conversation she told me that she really didn’t know much about her maternal Grandfathers side of the family. I told her I would see what I could find.

I started researching and within 3 days I received an email from a cousin of Alice’s. “Jessie” told me that her maternal Grandmother was Alice’s Grandfathers sister. We exchanged photos and information. I was able to get the two cousins in touch with each other. It was a great feeling.

That is until about 2 weeks later when I went to look at Jessie’s family tree. She had not Leola Belle Hugheschanged any of the erroneous information she had posted. You see, Alices Grandfather “Sam” was married to my Aunt Leola, my Dads sister. They were married in 1924 and they had two children, Charles in 1925 and Irene in 1930, Leola died in 1932 from Typhoid Fever. Sam then married Lea in about 1935 and they had two sons. In Jessies tree she only had Sam married to Lea and they had 4 children, those of Leola as well as Leas.

errorsWhen I contacted her about it I was told that “I can’t correct that! No one in the family knows that Uncle Sam had been married more than once. It would be a big scandal!” So she was leaving her tree as it was. I can only hope that she changes her mind about this in the future.

Pondering

I guess I have a hard time with anyone wanting to purposely keep wrong information in their tree. No matter what the reason. To me Truth is Truth whether you like it or not. I also don’t understand how this situation could be a scandal. I think it is a great dis-service to future generations to not know the whole truth.

I might be a little strange but I believe the unexpected in a Family Tree is what makes it more interesting. All the twists and turns, the surprises, the rebels and the saints give my tree character.

 

I am a professional genealogist, writer, photographer, crafter, reader, wife, mother, and grandma. I have two books available on Amazon.com: http://tinyurl.com/Your-Family-History and http://tinyurl.com/Genealogy-Research-Trip. You can also connect with me via Facebook or Twitter.

20 Comments

Filed under Ancestry, Corrections, Cousins, Family History, Family Search, Genealogy, History, Memories, Personal Stories, Research, Uncategorized

20 responses to ““I Can’t Correct That!”

  1. Joan

    Amazing! Genealogical history is full of people who married a second and sometimes third time after their spouses died. It’s not as if he did anything wrong, like having two wives at the same time.

  2. Hard to believe anyone today would be worried about that and, if the relatives read your blog, they know now anyway.

  3. Amazing that someone wouldn’t want to have their information correct, especially with something as innocent as a second (or third or fourth) marriage. I’ve found a few unknown marriages in my tree and it always causes much discussion and, then, even more questions. And ultimately that might lead to new cousins!

  4. Jana Last

    Valerie,

    I’d like let you know that your blog post is listed in today’s Fab Finds post at http://janasgenealogyandfamilyhistory.blogspot.com/2016/07/follow-friday-fab-finds-for-july-1-2016.html

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  5. I have definitely lied on some family trees. A girl born in 1943 is listed under her adopted parents even though I know who her natural mother was (died in childbirth). A man who had 5 children by his niece in the 1870s is shown with no family. A lady who had 2 children by her uncle (and husband) is shown as dying in the 1940s as an apparent spinster. I appreciate this story is confidential but a vague location would help us ‘lock this story down’ geographically. I’m in the UK.

  6. I bet more people know the truth than she thinks.

  7. I couldn’t agree more! What’s especially bizarre is the first marriage ended in death so why was it a scandal in her mind?

  8. Annick H.

    This is what puzzles me about my brother, who is only 55 and lost his first wife in a car accident after only 4 months of marriage. He has not YET told his now 19 and 20 year old children with his second wife. My aunt suggested I shouldn’t even mention the first wife in my tree. And I have to mind my tongue, as do my parents, when we are around them all. What a shame! She was a lovely person gone too soon.

  9. It is so disheartening to come across trees with incorrect information, especially when they know the truth, but prefer to represent it differently. I hope with time she will change her mind.

  10. Pingback: Suggestion Saturday: July 16, 2016 | On The Other Hand

Leave a Reply

