Adding Your Blog to Find-a-Grave

Isidro graveI was recently asked to add one of my Blogs to my Find-a-Grave Memorial. It was one that I made for my husband’s Great Grandfather Isidro Torres. It had never occurred to me before to do this. I have seen very nice obituaries and bios added to the Memorials but never a link to a Blog.

Today I went to the Memorial and I posted the URL to the Blog in the Bio section. The direct link did not work. I tried several different ways and it still didn’t work. So the following is what I did:

Birth: May 15, 1862
Sonora, Mexico
Death: May 15, 1927
Chandler
Maricopa County
Arizona, USA [Edit Dates]
Isidro Torres was born in Sonora Mexico. He was a scout for the Mexican Government during the Yaqui Uprising. He married Juana Garcia in 1904. He and Juana had 9 children. His Mother died when he was born and his Father returned to Spain. Isidro was raised by an Uncle and an Aunt.

Here is the Story of his life: http://tinyurl.com/qgf6cxr Copy and paste this URL into the address bar on your computer to view it.

[Edit Bio]
Family links: [Edit]
Spouse:
Juana Garcia Torres (1889 – 1938)

Children:
Jose Maria Garcia Torres (1907 – 2002)*

*Calculated relationship

This is what I placed in the Bio Section:

Here is the Story of his life: http://tinyurl.com/qgf6cxr Copy and paste this URL into the address bar on your computer to view it.

If the URL is copied and pasted to the address bar then the Blog can be viewed. Within 25 minutes of adding it I received a message on my Blog page from a distant cousin of my husbands’ who saw this on Find-a-Grave. She was thrilled to read about her Great-Great Grandfather and to connect with a part of the family she didn’t even know about. She also spent some time reading some of the other Blogs I have written not only about her family but also mine.

I am going to be doing this with all the other Memorials I manage, connecting any Blog I wrote about certain family members. Who knows who else I may meet?

If any of you have any suggestions as to how to get the URL to give the direct Link I would appreciate it. I am still in the learning stages on some aspects of these types of things.

I am a professional genealogist, writer, photographer, crafter, reader, wife, mother, and grandma. I have two books available on Amazon.com: Your Family History: Doing It Right the First Time and Planning Your Genealogy Research Trip. You can also connect with me via Facebook or Twitter.

17 Comments

Filed under Ancestry, Blogging, Family History, Find-A-Grave, Genealogy

17 responses to “Adding Your Blog to Find-a-Grave

  1. ruthrawls

    This is very clever! I’ll tinker around with mine and see what happens. If you don’t hear back from me, I have no news to report. 🙂

  2. What a great idea! Did you post a link to your blog or did you post a link to the blog post that contains the obituary/bio? I can’t tell because of the shortened url. Thanks!

    • I just posted the URL in the bio/obituary section. Like I said the link didn’t work but if they copy the url they can paste it in the address bar and be directed to the page.

      Thanks for reading the blog!

      Valerie

  3. What a wonderful service Find-a-Grave Memorial provides, and I enjoyed your detailed entry about your husband’s great-grandfather, Isidro Torres. Human history is made up of family stories. Thank you for sharing yours.

  4. I have mind as a link in each of the male “pedigree” profiles on Wiki Tree. I am working to find as many family profiles on Find a Grave to connect with those I have on Wiki Tree.

  5. Pingback: #MondayBlogs Round Up (05 January 2015) - Indie Imprint

  6. Amy

    You’ll need to add the HTML tags around the URL to get it to work on the memorial page. Copying/pasting the URL by itself does not create the hyperlink.

  7. This is such a great idea Valerie! Thanks for sharing!

    I want to let you know that your blog post is listed in today’s Fab Finds post at http://janasgenealogyandfamilyhistory.blogspot.com/2015/01/follow-friday-fab-finds-for-january-9.html

    Have a great weekend!

  8. What a clever way to meet new cousins! I must give it a go.

Leave a Reply

