Missouri State Fair 1968

Sedalia Fair

Me 1968

Isn’t it funny how certain sounds, smells or music can bring back a memory? When I smell Old Spice cologne I think of my Dad, when I smell chewing tobacco I am reminded of my Grandpa, whenever I hear a morning dove cooing I remember having breakfast outside at age 4.

I don’t particularly like watching television first thing in the morning. I like to start my days off with peace and quiet. My husband likes to catch up on world events as soon as he arises. So it was today. During some news story they played a snippet of the Rolling Stone song “Jumping Jack Flash” and memories from 1968 came dancing in my head.

Our family was living in Independence Missouri having moved there from Arizona the year before. They were having the Missouri State Fair in Sedalia and we were going. I was so excited, I had never been to a State fair and I had no idea what to expect. It was an 80 mile drive and I sat enjoying the scenery and listening to my parents talk. After a couple of hours we pull into the parking lot and I was astounded! There were people walking around with their farm animals on leashes, there was music in the air and you could see the large Ferris wheel located in the middle of the fair grounds. As soon as the car stopped I jumped out of the car, ready for a long day of fun.

sheep

It is odd the way most of the day is a bit fuzzy for me. I remember watching the judging of the sheep and pigs. For a girl who was raised in the desert this was fascinating. I had always thought that a sheep was a sheep; I had no idea of the variety of breeds. I can still smell the smell of the livestock pens. I remember the man who Dog at fairwalked around with a tiny Chihuahua who had a hat on and a little pipe in his mouth. Of course I have a picture of this to help with that memory!  I remember riding the Ferris wheel and the Hammer, screaming and laughing. I remember my sister, who because of her weight had to ride the Hammer by herself and she got sick and vomited while in the air. How bad am I that after all these years I still find this extremely hilarious?

Missouri_State_Fair

After my sister got cleaned up it was time for lunch. We found a seat under a canopy as my Dad went to get us hamburgers. While we were eating a band took the stage to the right of us and they began singing “Jumping Jack Flash.”  The teenage kids around us got up and began to dance. My Dad was horrified. I wanted to dance but he said “NO!”  So I sat in my seat and moved with the music and sang along as loudly as I could. I loved it.

I don’t remember much else about the day except after the fair we visited some relatives who lived in Sedalia and my Dad repeatedly proclaiming “How can they play that jungle music in public?” and “How can anyone call that music?” for the next few weeks.

Now every time I hear that song I am transported back to that sunny day in Central Missouri dancing in my seat and having a great time.

When you suddenly have a memory because of a “trigger” of some kind try to write it down as soon as you can. These are the parts of our lives that our descendants will want to know about and they will appreciate the details and feelings and descriptions of sights, sounds and feeling that go with it. Don’t you wish our own Ancestor had been able to do that for us?

I am a professional genealogist, writer, photographer, crafter, reader, wife, mother, and grandma. I have two books available on Amazon.com: Your Family History: Doing It Right the First Time and Planning Your Genealogy Research Trip. You can also connect with me via Facebook or Twitter.

6 Comments

Filed under Ancestry, Family History, Genealogy, Memories, Missouri, Story telling

6 responses to “Missouri State Fair 1968

  1. Thank you for this blog Valerie. You brought your experience to life.

  2. Very good blog today. I find that music also triggers memories for me. Some songs just smother me with the past.

  3. Valerie,

    I want to let you know that your blog post is listed in today’s Fab Finds post at http://janasgenealogyandfamilyhistory.blogspot.com/2014/11/follow-friday-fab-finds-for-november-14.html

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

