Part 7: My Mother’s Great Grandma was Superstitious–A Month of Tales from the Dark Side

superstitions-of-moonI thought I would spend this month leading up to Halloween telling stories of things that happened in not only my childhood, but in the lives of my Ancestors that helped form most of my Mothers superstition beliefs or were a result of her beliefs.  I will post a blog every Friday and Tuesday and I hope you will enjoy them and even get a laugh or two out of them.

Elizabeth Marsh was my Mothers Great Grandmother. She was born 31 December 1841 in Chillicothe Missouri. Elizabeth was a religious woman, attending Church every Sunday and reading her Bible daily. She love reading all the accounts in the Old Testament and she would tell not only Garden of edenher children but the other children in the surrounding areas the stories that she found there. Her favorite one was about Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden. We all know the account of how God created man, then from Adams rib He created woman. He set the two of them in this perfect Garden and told them they could eat from any tree in the garden except from “the tree of the knowledge of good and evil”. This Garden was perfect and they wanted for nothing. One day Satan took the shape of a serpent (snake) and tempted Eve with the fruit from the one forbidden tree. Satan told her that she could eat from fruit and she would not die but instead she would become like God and have great knowledge. She then ate from the fruit and she did not die. She then took the fruit to Adam and told him to eat from it also and he did. When God found out what they had done he banished them from the Garden. Elizabeth came to believe that Satan inhabited ALL snakes and she was afraid of them. She seldom ventured far from home on foot for fear of encountering one.

entrance to parkElizabeth passed her fear of snakes down to her children and they in turn passed it down to their children and so on. My Mom was raised in Missouri and she knew about all the types of snakes that lived there and where they were most likely to live. She avoided any place where she thought a snake may be. When we moved to Arizona my Mom found herself with a new dilemma. She did not know any of the species of snakes that dwelled in the Desert and she had no idea where they may hide. I remember once when we had relatives visiting us we took them on a cookout and hike in the Saguaro National Forest. Just so you know this is not a typical Saguaro National ParkForest with tall trees, it is filled with hundred year old Saguaro cacti. Some of these cacti grow to be 40-60 feet tall and can have up to 25 “arms” on it. While we were hiking up a hill, surrounded by beautiful cactus and Desert plants my Mom decided to kick over a rock. Nestled beneath this rock was a snake, all coiled up trying to sleep. My Mom took off running the opposite direction and didn’t stop until she got to our car. She then got inside and locked the doors. When we all finally reached the car it took a while before my Dad could convince her to come out. When she did she would only sit on the hood of the car! She tried to talk my Dad and my Uncles to go find the snake and kill it, but all they did was laugh.

A Lethal Mojave Rattlesnake Against a Stucco WallWe lived in a housing community just outside the Tucson City limits and the development was surrounded on 3 sides by Desert. A few years after this experience, early on a summer morning, I was taking a basket full of laundry out to hang on the clothes line. When I opened our back door and stepped outside I saw that there was a pretty large snake crawling along the wall of the house. I dropped the basket and jumped back inside, slamming the door. When my Mom found out about the snake she was hysterical. She started yelling that Satan was in that snake and we had to kill it. I was 6 years old at the time and my sister was 10 so we were not going to be much help in the “snake killing” department. My Dad was at work, as was every other man in our neighborhood. So my Mom devised a plan. I was to wait by the back door and wait for her to whistle. She was going to go out the front door, go into the shed and get a hoe and sneak up on the snake from behind.I was to open the back door and jump out and scream to get the snakes attention so that Satan would not see her coming at him. So it began…one…two…three…whistle…jump out…scream…my Mom began hitting the snake with the hoe. She was crying and hitting and crying and hitting and she didn’t stop until there was only a few recognizable pieces of the snake left. She then dropped the hoe, marched inside, crawled in bed and stayed there. When my Dad got home and he saw what was left of the snake he just shook his head, told us to get in the car and we went to McDonalds for dinner. My Mom finally emerged from her bedroom two days later and by then the snake parts had been disposed of. She had another “episode” when she found out the snake had been a rattlesnake but she got over it much quicker. From that day on until we sold the house and moved, which was 5 years, my Mom never went out the back door again. Up until she died at the age of 80 years old she would remind us every chance she got that “Satan was in all snakes and it was out duty to kill them.”

BTW: I have never killed a snake in my life and in fact I bought my Grandsons an Albino Corn snake for a pet!

Here are some more Superstitions that my Mother had:

visitor knocking on the doorIf you drop a fork you will be having company

Lift your feet up when driving over railroad tracks for good luckDriving over RR tracks

itchy feet

If the bottom of your right foot itches, you are going to take a trip or walk in a new place

 

Do you or anyone in your family have a Superstition? I would love to hear about them.

Come back on Tuesday for the next installment of “My Mothers Superstitions – Tales from the Dark Side.”

I am a professional genealogist, writer, photographer, crafter, reader, wife, mother, and grandma. I have two books available on Amazon.com: Your Family History: Doing It Right the First Time and Planning Your Genealogy Research Trip. You can also connect with me via Facebook or Twitter.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ancestry, Asylum, Family History, Genealogy, Halloween, Snakes, Superstitions

Leave a Reply

