The Kidnapping of Francisca Vega (Martinez)

Image

Francisca Vega Martinez is sitting in the chair and Lorenza Vega Lozano is Standing behind her.

 

When my Father-in-law first told me the two stories about his Grandmother Francisca Vega Martinez and her sister Lorenza Vega Lozano I thought “that’s pretty interesting”. Maybe a little far-fetched but that is how oral histories can be. When told from generation to generation some details can be lost and others can be added.

Eutimio Martinez lived in Southern Texas in the 1880’s. When he was a young man he decided it was time for him to find a wife so he went to town to find one. None of the girls there were what he was looking for so he got on his horse and headed south towards Mexico. After a couple of days of riding he found a wagon heading north with several people in it. He took special notice of a beautiful young girl named Francisca Vega who was traveling alone. He hitched a ride with the wagon heading back north. After talking with the girl for a while he decided that she was the one. No one knows how or why this happened but Eutimio ended up killing all of the people in the wagon and kidnapping Francisca. He then took her back to town and married her.

I started thinking, if the kidnapping of Francisca and the murders of those on the wagon were true, why would she stay with him all those years and have children with him? Why didn’t her parents come and rescue her and why would in later years her sister come and live with them? My Father-in-law also told me that Francisca’s sister Lorenza rode with Pancho Villa. Could either of these stories be true? These are valid questions.  As I was transcribing the tapes from my interviews with my Father-in-law I decided to do a little research.  First, I Googled their names…nothing.  Then I typed in kidnappings in the 1880’s in Texas…nothing, then in Mexico….nothing. After a few more inquiries I decided to take a different approach.

 I decided to start with Lorenza and see what I could find. I looked up Pancho Villa and The Mexican Revolution. I discovered that Pancho Villa did indeed have women who rode with him between 1910 and 1920. Some of them fought alongside the men and were called Soldaderas, others where “persuaded” to come along and others followed their husbands who went to fight.  One of the practices of Pancho Villa was to ride into a town and ask the citizens to “donate” to the cause of the Revolution. He would then gather up all able bodied men and “encouraged” them to join his army. He then would “invite” some of the young women to come along to help cook and care for the soldiers when they were injured. Most of the wives and children of the men who followed Pancho went along because they really didn’t have much choice. I believe this is the case with Lorenza.

 While looking into the Mexican Revolution I found that back in the 1800’s up until 1930 married women and single women living in Mexico had different rights under the law.  Single women had the same rights as a man. They could come and go as they pleased, work, attend church and even own property. Married women were the property of their husbands. They could do nothing without the permission of their husband. This could explain why no one came to get Francisca after she and Eutimio got married. Regardless of how she became his wife, she was now his property and they accepted it.

I have still not found any evidence that the stories above are true, but they would be considered Oral Traditions and therefore I added them to my husbands’ Family Trees. They add “color” and excitement to the family history.    

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Kidnapping of Francisca Vega (Martinez)

  1. Wow that is a very interesting story! Keep looking for those records you never know it really could be true! I am researching an ancestor and the oral tradition was that he was some type of gangster and I might really be true. I have located some criminal records that could potentially be him.

    • Thanks for the encouragement. I think I may extend my search into Northern Mexico as it could have happened there instead of Texas. That is great that you may have found some documents on your Ancestor. I think the ones who were the “black sheep” Ancestors are the most interesting!

      Valerie

  2. nydia

    Valerie – these are great stories. I have something similar in my fairly recent past (great-grandfather shot while playing in a conjunto; shooter or his relative marries the widow). Like you, no mention of it in US-side newspapers. But if I come across something like it Mexico-side, where would I look? Thanks for your site – very helpful advice here!

    • Nydia, Thank you. For the Mexico-side,
      if you know the approximate area and year you could search their local newspapers. I don’t know the area where mine happened or I would maybe have a chance to find it!

      Valerie

Leave a Reply

