Some of My Childhood Memories From: Saturday Night Genealogy Fun with Randy Seavers

Some of My Childhood Memories

From: Saturday Night Genealogy Fun

 

Randy Seaver, author of Genea-Musings, asked us to share some of our childhood memories for this week’s Saturday Night Genealogy Fun. The idea was inspired by Judy Russell’s Keynote address at RootsTech 2014.

In Judy’s keynote address, she asked the audience six questions about their parents, grandparents, and great-grandparents. With this exercise, she showed how quickly stories about our ancestors are forgotten or not known at all. 

Randy has asked that we answer Judy’s six questions from her keynote address, only we are to answer them about our own childhood. This should be fun!

Here are the questions:

1)  What was your first illness as a child?
2)  What was the first funeral you attended?
3)  What was your favorite book as a child?
4)  What was your favorite class in elementary school?
5)  What was your favorite toy as a child?
6)  Did you learn how to swim, and where did you learn?

Here are my answers:

1) My first childhood illness was the German measles when I was 3 years old. I remember laying in my bed with the curtains closed and blankets over the windows so no light could come in.

 2) The first funeral I attended was when I was 7 years old. My parent’s good friends, who moved from Missouri to Arizona with them, had a son and a daughter. On a Sunday evening in 1962 they all got in the car to go to the store to get some lunchmeat for their school lunches the next day. We all lived out of the city limits and the closest store was in town. As they were crossing the railroad tracks their car got hit by the train. Terry Lynn Warriner, their only son was killed on impact at the age of 14. It was very traumatic for me.

 3) My favorite book was “Brighty of the Grand Canyon”.

 4) My favorite class was my 5th grade one. Mrs. Holman was my teacher and she is the one who inspired me to write. I also love band class where I played the clarinet.

5) My favorite toy was a stuff wolf that I got for Easter one year. I carried it everywhere.

 6) I learned to swim at the YMCA pool. No one taught me, I just gradually caught on by watching others. I was about 5 years old.

 

This was a great exercise. It got this old brain working. Thanks Randy!!!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

