Finding “Common Word” named Ancestors

Image

                                    Mathew Arvin Register 1833-1913

Sometimes I wish that some of my Ancestors had easily re-searchable names.  Unfortunately I have names such as Register, Bond, Wisdom, Loving and Graves in my family. I find myself hitting my head against a wall (figuratively) when I m trying to do any kind of research on them. It doesn’t matter if it is a close relative or one who lived 200 years ago, the problem is still the same.

When I try to research the name Register I get a list of Parish Registers, City Registers, death and birth registers, and marriage registers. Even if I make a specific request giving complete name, birth, death and where they lived, I end up with page after page of non-related information. Yes, I put “quotation marks” around the name and I put + between the name and the other information, but nothing helps. The last name Bond is just as bad. Marriage Bonds, payment bonds, estate administration bond, and the list goes on. Don’t even get me started on the last name Loving. If anyone, anywhere wrote an obituary calling their deceased relative a “loving father” or a “loving sister” then these will be the information that I find.

I guess I just have to learn to look at it from a different perspective. When I do happen to find documents or information on one of these Ancestors I am ecstatic. The find means more to me then some of the more easily gotten ones do. I also know I will always have someone to research. In searching for these “impossible” relatives I have learned new and effective search techniques. So I guess it’s not all bad when you find a common word Ancestor in your tree.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

