Welcome to Genealogy with Valerie

Genealogy usually begins as a curiosity and can quickly develop into a passion. This is what happened to me. Growing up I was not raised around my extended family and my parents never really talked much about their relatives. By the time I “caught” the Genealogy bug all of my Grandparents, parents, Aunts, Uncles and most 1st cousins had passed on. So I had a very large challenge ahead of me. Over the last 20 years of Genealogy research I have had some great success and some miserable failures. I have collided with some very strong brick walls and I have stumbled upon hidden treasures. I have loved every minute of it!

The purpose of this blog is to not only document my Genealogy journey but to also offer help and inspiration to others. I will be sharing some of my triumphs and my failures, some of my favorite hints and warnings about things that will cause you to become discouraged. Remember, you will never really come to a place where you can say “That is it,  I have completed my Family Trees”. There will always be one more generation, either forward or backwards, that you can research and add. Oh the possibilities.

I have written two books on Genealogy and they can be found at Amazon.com

Your Family History: Doing It Right The First Time  http://tinyurl.com/lua7ojt

Planning Your Genealogy Research Trip  http://tinyurl.com/lw58y9w 

You can also follow me on Twitter:  https://twitter.com/VHughesAuthor and on Facebook:  www.facebook.com/valerie.hughes.1650

Leave a comment

Filed under Genealogy

Leave a Reply

